Health & Wellness

Right after the new year, I started writing a post about Urbana.  Turns out I never exactly finished it… so I think I’ll probably just let it sit and move on d=

As the new year has come around, one of the things I’ve been thinking about a little more is what it means to be healthy and respect the body that God has given me to experience life with.  While still young, I’m realizing that I’m starting to get to the point where I can’t just treat my body like dirt and expect not to pay some consequences for it.

Aside from putting on some weight, I take generally bad care of my eyes & my teeth, and I’ve had a strange lingering knee injury since I played a lot of volleyball last summer that I’m still trying to figure out.  It feels bruised when I push off of it, but there’s no sharp pain or swelling.  But anyway, this is all besides the point.

Here are some of the things I’m attempting this year to be more healthy… with varying success:
-Cutting back on fast food
-Exercising fairly intensely at least once a week
-Adding raw onions to my subs & switching to wheat bread (my typical sub now consists of oven roasted chicken on 6″ 9-grain honey oat, pepperjack, tomatoes, onions, green peppers, spinach, salt & pepper, and oregano)
-Paying more attention to sodium & caloric intake
-Walking to lunch
-Drinking more water
-Eating breakfast (even if it’s just something small on the way out)
-Eating slower (actually chewing my food)
-Taking out my contacts at night (this is a recent development)
-Using mouthwash periodically and brushing my teeth more
-Cutting down the habit of working on the couch until I fall asleep (there were probably almost entire weeks where I didn’t sleep on my bed)

and the list goes on…

I’m hoping to lose 15-20 lbs by my wedding day d=

The tough thing is as much willpower you exert through 80% of the week, all it takes is hanging out with a couple friends or a stressful day to indulge in a horribly unhealthy meal or 3.  But I guess it still helps to be actively trying to be healthy for most of the week than none of it d=  I had forgotten how skinny I used to be until looking back at some old pictures a couple months ago.

I think we often don’t acknowledge how exercise and eating can affect us spiritually.  God has given us our bodies to care for and has called them temples of the Holy Spirit.  How we’re maintaining our body and what we’re putting into it can easily affect our mood and also our spiritual health, so having discipline in how we treat our bodies can serve as an act of worship to God.  That being said, I’ve got a long, long way to go.

What do you do to try to be healthy, or do you at all?

3 thoughts on “Health & Wellness

  1. is honey oat the new choice or the old choice? because i think that’s the healthiest bread at subway. i wish they had a 100% whole grain option, but oh well. cutting back on sodium is really important but also hard to do. i have yet to succeed (or honestly try, for that matter…) anyway, good for you! i hope you achieve your goal.

  2. *snaps*

    yeah… post-college body not as hot as co-ed body. lol i had to make some similar commitments to myself.

    i miss seeing you friend!

Leave a Reply

